Trademarks and Licensing Program

Trademarks and Licensing Program

 

The trademark licensing program regulates, promotes, and protects the use of the University's name and identifying marks, and the reputation they represent, both on and off campus, ensuring the quality and consistency of the university brand on university merchandise, while creating a cooperative and positive working relationship with the manufacturers, licensees and retailers who work with the University. Licensed vendors are expected to conduct business with honesty, integrity, trustworthiness, and respect for the intrinsic value of each human being.

UCCS Marketing Communication, partnering with the University of Colorado Trademark Licensing Office, is responsible for ensuring the correct use and integrity of UCCS trademark assets, including marks and verbiage. 

The use of UCCS marks on any merchandise, whether for retail sale or simply as a giveaway promotional item, requires permission from UCCS and licensing from Collegiate Licensing Company (CLC). CLC administers the license application process for all vendors on behalf of UCCS and assists with issues of legality and enforcement.

Read the CU Licensing Policy, and find out more at cu.edu/trademarks

Questions

If you have questions about UCCS's licensing program, please contact Jeff Foster, university brand manager, at 719-255-3847 or jfoster2@uccs.edu.

CLC Collegiate Licensing logo

List of Approved Vendors

A searchable list of vendors licensed to produce UCCS merchandise is available below. 

Official lists of vendors licensed to produce CU merchandise, updated July 2021:

How to Order Promotional Items

Initial Steps

  1. Clear the artwork with the campus brand manager for brand compliance
  2. Choose a licensed vendor (see List of Approved Vendors below)
  3. Once order is finalized, vendor will submit your request through the normal CLC process

Royalty Rate

The royalty rate is set at a level that will adequately reflect the value added to the goods and services on which University Marks are displayed. In developing the rate, consideration is given to the cost to the consumer, the impact on the vendor community, and the rates in place at institutions of similar size and stature. The licensing sub-committee, with representatives from all CU campuses, will collectively determine the royalty rate for the use of the University's Marks. The current University royalty rate is 15% of the wholesale cost of goods, for those items purchased for resale and 0% for those items purchased for internal use (subject to the “internal exceptions" below).

Royalty Exemptions

In determining exemptions from royalty payment, consideration is given to the purpose of the licensing program and the community it serves. Given these criteria, the University should not be required to pay itself for purchases of services or products it makes for its own use to fulfill the educational mission of the University, which includes community outreach. However, the University should also avoid unfair competition with other retailers and service providers and should, therefore, not exempt itself from paying royalties on the purchase of goods that are to be used for resale or services provided to faculty, staff, and students as an additional benefit unrelated to the educational mission of the University.

Internal Exceptions

Items purchased for internal use are generally royalty exempt, but some exceptions do apply. They are as follows:

  1. If the items are purchased to be given away at an event and there is a cost for admission to the event.
  2. If a third party’s mark (i.e. sponsor) appears on the item.
  3. If the same or very similar item can be purchased from the campus bookstore, as these items are deemed to be in direct competition with the bookstore

Other

  • Licensed vendors must always be used regardless if the items carry royalties, or are to be resold or used internally.
  • Giveaways at major events need to be approved prior to the event. If approval is not obtained, the items may not be given away.

Parents or students, if you are looking to place a custom order for an item with the UCCS brand for a special occasion (graduation cake, etc.), please contact Jeff Foster for information on ordering and royalties.

Find out more about Student Use of University Trademarks.

UCCS Licensed Vendor List

Internal Campus Suppliers, updated October, 2022.

Licensee Email City State Phone Website
No result
4imprint Inc. khilla@4imprint.com Oshkosh WI 877-446-7746 4imprint.com
Ahead LLC Shane.Lavoie@aheadhq.com New Bedford MA 508-985-9898 Aheadhq.com
All Star Dogs info@allstardogs.com Marlboro NJ 800-391-3520 Allstardogs.com
American Collegiate Sports LLC apatapoff@acsfsports.com New York NY 212-496-7159 pridegear.com
Boxercraft Inc. tkirby@boxercraft.com Mableton GA 404-355-9994 Boxercraft.com
Brand Agents Inc. Lesley@brandagents.net Denver CO 303-693-4057 Brandagents.net
BSN Sports LLC jloke@bsnsports.com Dallas TX 972-406-3477 Bsnsports.com
C-B Graduation Announcements chrisbarr@cbgrad.com Manhattan KS 785-776-5018 Cbgrad.com
Campus Stop LLC mritz@campusstop.com Philadelphia PA 267-314-5583 campusstop.com
CDI Corp ritatucker@cdi-corp.com Chicago IL 773-205-2960 Cdi-corp.com
Church Hill Classics christiel@diplomaframe.com Monroe CT 877-764-2525 Diplomaframe.com
CI Sport Inc. jamiek@cisport.com Fargo ND 701-271-0953 Cisport.com
Club Colors Buyer LLC lsummerson@clubcolors.com Schaumburg IL 847-490-3636 clubcolors.com
Cole Promo corrie@colepromo.com Colorado Springs CO 719-260-1774 Colepromo.com
College Thread (FL) dba Greek House karthik@greekhouse.org Los Angeles CA 407-927-6808 greekhouse.org
College Vault by Wincraft Inc. cfakler@wincraft.com Winona MN 507-454-5510 Wincraft.com
Collegiate Pacific Co. danielle@collegiatepacific.com Roanoke VA 540-981-0281 Collegiatepacific.com
Colosseum Athletics Corporation ryanp@colosseumusa.com Compton CA 404-538-7828 Colosseumusa.com
Columbia Sportswear by Outdoor Custom Sportswear sdice@ocsapparel.com Overland Park KS 913-253-2018 Ocsapparel.com
Commemorative Brands, Inc. dba Balfour Julie.Bednar@balfour.com Austin TX 214-797-8008 Balfour.com
Creative Marketing Concepts vp@creativemc.com San Francisco CA 415-900-4000 cmcpromos.com
Crown Trophy of Boulder crownboulder@gmail.com Boulder CO IL 303-443-3151  
CustomInk LLC licensing@customink.com Fairfax VA 703-910-5018 customink.com
Fanatic Group LLC, The info@thefanaticgroup.com Edison NJ 732-512-1777 thefanaticgroup.com
Geiger Collegiate Promotions geigerlicensing@geiger.com Lewiston ME 207-755-2441 www.Geiger.com
GFSI LLC (Champion) trey.ham@hanes.com Lenexa KS 913-693-3261 Gearforsports.com
GFSI LLC (Gear For Sports) trey.ham@hanes.com Lenexa KS 913-693-3261 Gearforsports.com
GFSI LLC (Under Armour) trey.ham@hanes.com Lenexa KS 913-693-3261 Gearforsports.com
Gold Country Inc. mpeyton@signatureconcepts.com Minnetonka MN 952-979-1375 Signatureconcepts.com
Halo Branded Solutions Halo.Licensing@halo.com Sterling IL 913-558-4534 halo.com
Image Source Inc. jacob@imagesourceteam.com Kirkland WA 425-898-2991 imagesourceteam.com
It's Greek To Me Inc. MHK-Licensing@hanes.com Manhattan KS 800-336-4486 gtmsportswear.com
Jardine Associates robert@jardineassociates.net North Kingstown RI 401-667-3811 Jardineassociates.com
Jostens Inc. Joley.podein@jostens.com Owatonna MN 507-455-6561 Jostens.com
K & M/Nordic Co. licensing@nordiccompanyinc.com Riverside RI 401-431-9299 Nordiccollege.net
KH Sports Fan jmb@kindredhearts.com Plainfield IL 815-230-2700 khsportsfan.com
Knits N Weaves dba Horn Legend licensing@hornlegend.com Frisco TX 714-875-8275 hornlegend.com
Kwik-Covers LLC jpuglisi@kwikcovers.com Webster NY 585-787-9620 www.kwikcovers.com
L2 Brands, LLC amanley@l2brands.com Hanover PA 610-272-7575 league91.com
Lakeshirts Inc. dba Blue 84 matt.boeke@blue84.com Detroit Lakes MN 218-846-3065 Lakeshirts.com
Leisure Time Awards, Inc kristie@leisuretimeawards.com Boulder CO 303-449-3651 leisuretimeawards.com
LogoFit LLC atyler@logofit.com Flint MI 810-336-1697 Logofit.com
Logoit4u LLC patrick@logoit4u.com Broomfield CO 303-440-6345 logoit4u.com
LXG kristina@lxginc.com Tempe AZ 602-437-5550 Lxginc.com
Mano's Inc. dba Mano's Gifts kyle@manosinc.com Kansas City MO 816-471-2744 manoswine.com
Mascot Factory licensing@mascotfactory.com Poway CA 858-679-2246 Mascotfactory.com
Memory Company LLC, The csizemore@memorycompany.com Phenix City AL 888-448-1480 Memorycompany.com
Midwest College Mktg Group licensing@mcmgroup.net Fletcher NC 800-920-5944 Mcmgroup.net
MKP Ent. dba Alternatives in Advertising Inc. mike@aiabranding.com Southfield MI 248-388-5778 AIABranding.com
Moore Promotional Products Inc. info@moorepromo.com Colorado Springs CO 719-473-6642 Moorepromo.com
Mountain States Specialties Inc. angie@mtnstatesspecialties.com Boulder CO 303-444-6186 Mtnstatesspecialties.com
MV Sport ellen@wpmv.com Bay Shore NY 631-273-8020 Mvsport.com
Neil Enterprises Inc. abotezatu@neilvarsityline.com Vernon Hills IL 847-549-7627 neilvarsityline.com
Nike by Branded Custom Sportswear cgroves@bcsapparel.com Overland Park KS 913-234-6235 Bcsapparel.com
Ouray Sportswear LLC licensing@ouraysportswear.com Englewood CO 303-789-4035 Ouraysportswear.com
P. Graham Dunn jonathan.gale@pgrahamdunn.com Dalton OH 800-828-5260 pgrahamdunn.com
Pelligrini Solutions ben@pelligrini.com Englewood CO 303-282-4745 pelligrini.com
Ping licensing@ping.com Phoenix AZ 602-687-5191 Ping.com
Premiums Promotions & Imports Inc. valerie.green@dmedelivers.com Daytona Beach FL 386-258-1900 gamedaymarketing.com
Promos Adv. Prods. debbie@promosad.com Claremore OK 918-343-9675 promosad.com
R.F.S.J. Inc. doreen@rfsj.com Mt. Pleasant PA 724-547-4457 rfsj.com
Rawlings Sporting Goods ereinsfelder@rawlings.com St. Louis MO 314-819-2839 rawlings.com
Ringmasters Jewelry and Gifts (UT) kirk@ringmasters-inc.com Ogden UT 801-612-3030 fanfrenzygifts.com
Roaring Spring Blank Book Co. bvaughn@roaringspring.com Roaring Spring PA 814-224-5141 rspaperproducts.com
Russell Athletic by Boxercraft Inc. tkirby@boxercraft.com Mableton GA 404-355-9994 boxercraft.com
Scotty Gear Retail Corp dba Desert Cactus joe@desertcactus.com Rolling Meadows IL 847-385-8897 desertcactus.com
SDS Design Associates Inc. allyson@sdsdesign.com Whitehall PA 610-820-7044 Sdsdesign.com
Sewing Concepts sewingconcepts@prodigy.net Omaha NE 402-731-8181 scflags.com sewingconcepts@prodigy.net Omaha NE 402-731-8181 scflags.com
Signature Announcements Inc. licensing@signaturea.com Clearwater FL 727-489-2070 signaturea.com
Sincerely Yours LLC info@sincerelyyourspromos.com Denver CO 303-388-7319 sincerelyyourspromos.com
Spirit Products Ltd./MA mcamacho@spiritproducts.com Methuen MA 978-372-2022 Spiritproducts.com
Sports Scarf lcoelho@sportsscarf.com Mattapoisett MA 508-525-5477 sportsscarf.com
Standard Chair Of Gardner heatherc@standardchair.com Gardner MA 978-632-1301 Standardchair.com
Strand Art Company wickie01@aol.com Anaheim CA 714-777-0444 strandartcollegiate.com
Strand Art Company wickie01@aol.com Anaheim CA 714-777-0444 Strandart.com
Strideline LLC licensing@strideline.com Seattle WA 425-246-3717 strideline.com
Success Promotions Inc. chad@successbrands.com Chesterfield MO 314-878-1999 successpromo.com
Synergy Imports LLC ck@synergyimports.com St. Paul MN 651-493-4267 synergyimports.com
To The Game LLC keeli.floyd@2thegame.com Phenix City AL 334-291-5151 2thegame.com
Tops of Rockies Marketing Inc. jeff.robinson@topsofrockies.com Denver CO 303-424-0114 topsofrockies.com
Tokyodachi by Lakeshirts Inc. dba Blue 84 matt.boeke@blue84.com Detroit Lakes MN 218-846-3065 blue84.com
Tokyodachi by Zephyr Graf-X tswenson@zhats.com Loveland CO 888-282-0994 Zhats.com
University Blanket & Flag Corp bgerbel@ubflag.com Coronado CA 619-435-4100 Ubflag.com
University Frames (CA) licensing@universityframes.com Anaheim CA 800-711-1977 Universityframes.com
Uscape Apparel LLC alex@uscapeapparel.com Lake Forest CA 949-842-1908 uscapeapparel.com
Victory Tailgate sgalbraith@victorytailgate.com Orlando FL 928-287-4919 VictoryTailgate.com
Wes and Willy LLC college@wesandwilly.com Omaha NE 402-884-5001 Wesandwilly.com
Wincraft Inc. cfakler@wincraft.com Winona MN 507-454-5510 Wincraft.com
Zephyr Graf-X tswenson@zhats.com Loveland CO 888-282-0994 Zhats.com